My Happy Place

I hate waking this boy up to go to the gym in the morning. It’s hard with all his cuteness and hair.

20140710-171806-62286992.jpg

The gym is just about the only place these days that I feel normal. Same faces, same smiles, same struggles. I feel like I can still move relatively easy: row, lift weights, do pull-ups, push ups. You know, get through the workout. It may not be pretty, but it never is for anyone. We are all just trying to get through it.

Having said that, today’s workout was tough. Seconds felt like minutes and minutes like hours. The warmup: lay on your back with legs up. Stay in the position for 30 seconds on then 30 seconds off for 5 rounds. Sound easy? Try it….mwahahaha! It’s miserable. After that, flip yourself over and hold a plank on your forearms for 3:00 straight. Good luck with that. I forced myself to hold for a full 30 seconds.

Now the workout. It consisted of 5 movements, 3:00 per movement with 3:00 rest between each exercise. So, try to get as many reps as possible of each movement in the allotted 3:00. Three minutes is an ETERNITY in CrossFit. These were the movements I did: row for calories, ground to shoulder w a 45# atlas stone, knee ups, push press at 45# and 10 meter sprints carrying a 14# medicine ball. The last was probably the most comical. Me, trying to run with a basketball in my stomach and trying to find a place to carry the one I’m actually running with. This on top of the fact that I think I am running so fast you can barely see me, but, in reality, I’m practically walking.

At least Okie and I got to jam to Michael Jackson while we worked. Really loud.

20140710-174231-63751494.jpg

The World According to Seamus

20140710-183520-66920804.jpg
Seamus rallies the kids for a little pick up baseball game while big brother Killian has a game of his own.

Leave a Reply

